2 Comments

High Season has arrived…an update for my readers

First things first…Hurricane Sandy knocked out our power here for 10 days. It was a time for hot showers in cold rooms, scrounging for gasoline and running noisy generators. I’m not complaining too much…others had it much, much worse. Minimal damage to my home, and everyone in my family is safe. I have people in my acquaintance who were not so lucky, and we gave support where we were able. Around a week later a Nor’easter snowstorm hit the northeast too, complicating matters even more. It’s been an interesting few weeks. The blog did not stop…but it’s been the least productive period since its inception. I think it was John Lennon who opined, “life is what happens while you’re making other plans”. Indeed. However, it’s time to get back on track! High season is here! It is the Saturday before Thanksgiving, and I am about to be drowned in new films, screeners and DVDs. I’ve seen twenty-five 2012 releases as of today…that number will double by late-January. First up will probably be Bond 23…aka “Skyfall”. I haven’t missed a 007 in the theaters in 25 years(1987’s “The Living Daylights” for the uninitiated), and I don’t intend to begin now. Overall critical notice seems to be labeling this one a winner. Also on the slate, “Lincoln”(despite the sneaking suspicion that Spielberg will again not meet my expectations), “The Sessions”(starring Helen Hunt and the man who I’m almost ready to call the current greatest screen actor—John Hawkes), and “Silver Linings Playbook”(although David O’Russell’s “The Fighter” from 2010 was enough of a mediocrity to give me pause). Lower profile releases include “Celeste and Jesse Forever”, “The Perks of Being a Wallflower”, and “Arbitrage”. Then there’s the possibility of “Anna Karenina”. And Ang Lee’s “Life of Pi”. And we’re not even into December yet! I even intend to attend at least one more stage production this year, but I’m uncertain of what or where. Currently, off-Broadway’s “A Summer Day” and also “The Freedom of the City” are top contenders, but neither is a guarantee. Ticket availability and scheduling being the biggest obstacles. So, after the slowest rate of new reviews and features of the last 10 months, we are about to enter the breakneck speed period. Stay tuned for all the latest. It’s my favorite time of the film year and I expect it to be an exciting ride!

2 comments on “High Season has arrived…an update for my readers

  1. It’s good to have you back! Good luck on your mission. We’re all counting on you.

    • Thank you, Brian! Hoping the writing can keep up with the sheer amount of releases I’m set to view in the next ten weeks or so. Also, there’s my regular features to contend with—like award nominations and The Cronenberg Chronicle. Sheesh! What have I gotten myself into! ML

Leave a Reply

