4 Comments

Tim Curry recovering after major stroke!

It’s been a few days now, but I’m still getting over the shocking reports of actor Tim Curry suffering a major stroke. I’m choosing to believe the updates that say the 67 year-old legend is “doing great”, and that he has not lost his ability to talk. Allow me to speak for his legion of fans in saying that we all want that information to be 100% true. A renowned performer on stage and screen, most people have by now seen Tim Curry in something. A sampling of his major stage work? How about Broadway’s “Spamalot”, the winner of the Tony award for Best Musical in 2005? Also in 2001, he was Ebenezer Scrooge in the seasonal “A Christmas Carol” at NYC’s Madison Square Garden. And in 1980, he was Broadway’s first Mozart in Peter Shaffer’s “Amadeus”. After Curry left the play, it continued to run for years before being adapted into the 1984 Academy Award-winning film starring Tom Hulce as the composer. Film roles? The list is equally impressive. 1982’s “Annie” as Rooster. 1985’s “Clue” as Wadsworth. He was Dr. Petrov in 1990’s “The Hunt for Red October” and Mr. Hector in 1992’s “Home Alone 2: Lost in New York”. There are dozens more, but have I left anything vital out? Of course I have!

Whether Mr. Curry likes it or not, he’ll always be, first and foremost, Dr. Frank N. Furter from 1975’s “The Rocky Horror Picture Show”. It’s the biggest cult film of all time, after all! He originated the role on stage in London in 1973, in Los Angeles in 1974, and finally Broadway in 1975. Curry was then immortalized in the film version later that year, and became a major celebrity and icon when the movie began its legendary midnight runs in 1976. Throughout all of this Tim was under the age of 30…so it’s difficult to fathom that the “Sweet Transvestite” is now a senior citizen. I believe I first saw “Rocky Horror” at a midnight showing around 1979 at the age of 14. Instantly, I was hooked. I spent a period going to it on Fridays and Saturdays at 12 A.M. every weekend in the early 1980’s. I also saw the London, West End stage revival in 1995 and the New York Broadway revival in 2001. The movie soundtrack? It’s one of my 5 “desert island” discs—if you know what that means. I can sing it verbatim. So, Tim Curry has been a HUGE part of my life, for a very long time. And I want to wish him a full and speedy recovery. Get well soon, Dr. Frank! The world will always need its most “wild and untamed thing”!

4 comments on “Tim Curry recovering after major stroke!

  1. It is sad and shocking to hear what happened and we are all hoping he recovers quickly. That said, Spamalot was terrible (not fault to Mr. Curry). I thought it was the most inane and cynical attempt to capitalize on Python fame. I saw it was Curry, Hank Azaria and David Hyde Pierce and it could’ve been any 3 guys from the local community theater.

    Probably didn’t help that I was wicked hungover when I saw it.

    • Now, now, Brian—I have not forgotten your disdain for the Monty Python musical. However, do you really think I find detritus like “Home Alone 2” good? I never saw “Spamalot”, but it, at least, garnered respect in many corners. The purpose of this feature was to list a selection of Curry’s most popular work. And I didn’t even mention his two beloved “monster” roles as the Lord of Darkness in Ridley Scott’s “Legend”, and Pennywise the Clown in the miniseries of Stephen King’s “It”. It’s an homage to the recovering Curry. So, cut him a little slack! ML

      • I think my intent was to suggest that Spamalot should not be the first thing listed when discussing Mr. Curry’s achievements. And, yes, I do think Spamalot was more cynical than Home Alone 2. I don’t fault the actor, I fault the production. But this is not the time or place.

        And judging by my typing skills I should not make blog comments this early in the morning!

  2. “Spamalot” being listed first was purely coincidental. Plus, I’m sure you meant no disrespect to Mr. Curry with your comment. ML

Leave a Reply

