6 Comments

“Man of Steel” reviews…coming soon?

With roughly a week to go, my 8 year-old and I are highly anticipating the brand new Superman reboot, “Man of Steel”. It’s been a long wait following the film’s postponement from last summer to a June 2013 debut—but all will be forgiven if they can just make it good. Add the fact that my son shares a first name with the actor portraying the man-in-the-red-cape, and you’ll come to realize that we are itching to believe that this reboot can fly. But where are the reviews? I haven’t been able to locate one yet. Shouldn’t something have appeared by now? Is the studio nervous? It’s giving me pause.

“Man of Steel” director Zack Snyder awesomely updated George A. Romero’s 1978 “Dawn of the Dead” nine years ago. He streamlined it, cast solid actors and endowed the zombies with the ability to run. The result was superb. It even helped nudge Romero himself(out of semi-retirement)to bring us a new triptych of “Dead” films since—none as accomplished as Snyder’s 2004 “Dawn”. So, I have some faith in Zack. Some. He’s been hit-or-miss since, including an ambitious(but flawed)attempt at a comic book franchise with 2009’s “Watchmen”. It divided the public and critics alike, and to date has a minimum of three different cuts. Plus, the “Man of Steel” trailers are decidedly Christoper Nolan-esque(“The Dark Knight” trilogy helmer is one of the film’s producers). That style worked like gangbusters for Batman…but Supes could be a different story. My fingers are crossed.    

I was a fan of 2006’s “Superman Returns”, but many felt it missed the mark. To me it was a wonderful homage to the Christopher Reeve “Superman” films—I was wowed by the late Mr. Reeve as Kal-El when I was in my teen years. Also, “Superman Returns” contains that phenomenal action sequence of the hero stopping a falling plane—incredible. Sure, the film got a bit wayward in its last third with the revival of Lex Luthor’s maniacal real estate plot from the original 1978 film. But “Superman Returns” still mostly worked. But the studio didn’t like the final box office numbers(it was a hit, btw), so here we are with a new look and cast seven summers later. I’m leery of Amy Adams as Lois Lane(if Kate Bosworth was too young at 23 in 2006, isn’t Ms. Adams too old at nearly 39?), but tickled pink that Michael Shannon is Zod. Henry Cavill has some big, red boots to fill and it appears that things could go either way. I’m really jazzed for this one, folks. However, I’ll be sure to remain only cautiously optimistic.

6 comments on ““Man of Steel” reviews…coming soon?

  1. My favourite scene in t1978 version is when Superman flew around the globe super fats to make time go backwards. Often wished I could do that..

  2. Imagine having the ability to go back on a few things in our lives we did or said, Simon! The possibilities! ML

  3. The embargo on this film is for Monday, June 10. I am a film critic in Dallas and WB/ Legendary always do it the same way for everyone of these movies. It was the same for The Dark Knight and The Dark Knight Rises. I saw Man of Steel last week and can tell you that there is nothing to worry about. It is a fantastic film with amazing action sequences and wonderful performances. It may be a bit rushed in the middle, but not by much. I can’t say much more, but all the critics I talked to loved it.

  4. Thanks for the info, Nathan! I was unaware that this was in step with WB/Legendary’s normal pattern. Ecstatic to hear that you, as well as some of your fellow critics, enjoyed it so much. We are barely standing the wait to see it! Readers can expect my review shortly after the official opening. ML

  5. I know what the critics has said. They complained about too much action, superman being too serious, lack of romance, etc. Since Zack Snyder directed this movie, I don’t think he cared about the critics. Don’t get me wrong, he DOES care about the fans’ opinion. Seems like he really wanted to really satisfy the fans. I see why critics complained about too much action. For me it’s just his way to satisfy the viewers. This is the kind of movie that is just really satisfying. When the movie ended, I got that ‘satisfying’ feeling instead of the ‘wanting more’ feeling. It’s like it was really enough.

    Even Snyder’s best movies (before this) which were 300 & Watchmen didn’t have more ratings than 64% on Rotten Tomatoes. I think the fans should have anticipated the bad reviews. His style is actually what critics hate. The over the top action and CGI is actually his trademark. So, even from the beginning, I think this is actually the kind of movie the producers wanted. About the lack of romance, I really do think it’s saved for the sequel. The sequel will definitely explore more about the relationship between Clark and Lois. This film focused on 2 aspects: the origin (krypon,struggle finding his place) & the action (Zod and his army). Don’t expect humor or romance.

    The visuals were spectacular! What’s best about this movie is its action scenes. The action were just relentless. I think the fans would not be disappointed at all. Yes, I know there is only a very few humor this movie but that actually doesn’t even matter. The battle between Superman & Zod will definitely ‘wow’ everyone but the critics. I mean who cares about the critics opinion? A superhero movie MUST NOT be judged by the critics opinion, what’s more important is the audience’s opinion about the movie and especially the fans’. I think the movie really delivered. Most people will definitely like this movie. I am really sure that many fanboys will consider this as the best comic book of all time. This is a MUST SEE for people who like action movie. The action were better than last year’s The Avengers.

    The sequel really have a great potential. Considering the minimum amount of romance in this movie (since they just knew each other, and superman was also more focused on Zod), the next movie could explore more of that. One of the things missing from the movie was also the presence of Clark Kent at the daily planet. It’s one of the trade marks. But, I believe the sequel will show more scenes in the Daily Planet which is interesting to see.

    As a conclusion, I think Man of Steel is so far the best action movie this year. This movie really is a Snyder movie. But it also has a quite lot of nolan-esque feel to it especially in the around first 45 minutes.

    If this was compared to Iron man 3, if Iron man 3 was a 7, this movie is a 8.6.

    More about the movie you can also find it here
    http://movieinfodb.com/en/movie/49521/Man+of+Steel-2013

    • Thanks for your comment. I disagree with a lot of your take on this film, but I will admit that it played a bit better on television after a recent 2nd look. I’ll also argue that “Dawn of the Dead” is Snyder’s best film, and that “Watchmen” was only partially successful. Also, I take umbrage at people who sneer at this sinister conglomerate called “the critics”. They are not all the same people, and if folks can’t tell me which specific ones they read on a regular basis, I can’t take them very seriously. I know who the astute critics are—that I can mostly trust. It’s impossible to see 600 films a year, and a solid critic can be an excellent guide. ML

Leave a Reply

