4 Comments

Summer’s Best…and the winner is:

Probably no surprise whatsoever to my regular readers. Richard Linklater’s “Before Midnight” is my favorite film of the season. It’s also my choice for the finest movie of the entire first 8 months of 2013, and it will undoubtedly be a major contender when my year-end Top Ten list rolls around by February 1st, or so. “Before Midnight”, btw, also has the highest Metacritic rating of anything released yet this year. I’m super high on Julie Delpy possibly securing an Academy Award nomination—this may be her finest work as an actress. Of course, there is an even stronger chance for a screenplay nod—which she would share with Mr. Linklater and co-star Ethan Hawke(the trio was nominated for their 2004 “Before Sunset” script, nine years back). With Labor Day weekend upon us, I’ve seen 20 releases from the 2013 calendar year at this juncture. “Before Midnight” is the top dog of that extended bunch, too. In 1995, “Before Sunrise” was my #1 film of the year, likewise for “Before Sunset” in 2004. Could there be a three-peat? Only time will tell, as I expect to see roughly 40 new films during the insanely furtive fall/winter season. Runners-up for top honors? Both “Byzantium” and “Mud”. The new season begins next week…and I’m foaming at the mouth for “Riddick” in IMAX 3D already! Stay tuned!

4 comments on “Summer’s Best…and the winner is:

  1. Good choice. Perhaps Riddick will topple Linklater’s masterpiece from atop your list, though? I am hearing Oscar buzz for Vin Diesel’s performance!

    • Yeah, and monkeys might fly out of my butt! As I like to tell folks: with all the indies I go to the theaters for, like “Before Midnight” and “Frances Ha”, I have to get out and just be a dude sometimes! “Pacific Rim” fulfilled that need a couple of months back, and it’s Diesel’s turn next. Big fan of both “Pitch Black” and “The Chronicles of Riddick”. ML

      • Yeah, I know what you mean. I love a good art film, but sometimes you just want to kick back, put your feet up, and watch some shit explode.

  2. As long as it explodes with style! Thanks for checking in, Dave! ML

Leave a Reply

