8 Comments

This Is The End

End-of-the-world comedy? I’m in. End-of-the-world comedy starring Seth Rogen, Jonah Hill, Craig Robinson, Danny McBride, Michael Cera and Christopher Mintz-Plasse as themselves? Fuck yeah! And the apocalypse is taking place right outside James Franco’s house? First of all—where else? And secondly—why did I skip this when it was in theaters?. Count me among the group that thought 2008’s “Pineapple Express” was a freaking blast. So, I’m already halfway there at even the hint of a reunion of most of that cast. And with everyone riffing on their own movie star personas here, you’ve got to make one big decision concerning the Armageddon angle of this beast right up front. And the correct choice is made. Play the carnage straight! And then the laughs will follow. Actors becoming demons, getting sucked into bottomless pits and speared on utility poles. Oh, and Channing Tatum is brainwashed to become a submissive sex slave…to Danny McBride. It’s vulgar and hilarious, and it certainly defies conventional  description. It’s raucous and raunchy, sloppy and sharp, mindless and satirical throughout. Rogen co-directed and co-wrote this with “Pineapple Express” screenwriter Evan Goldberg, and its everthing-but-the-kitchen-sink approach is infectious. It also stars Jay Baruchel and Emma Watson, and there are cameos by Rihanna, Jason Segel, Paul Rudd, Aziz Ansari and the Backstreet Boys. Sure, it runs out of steam a bit halfway through, but for the most part you’ll be laughing your ass off. And when the B-Boys finally arrive—maybe even want to dance!     Grade: B

8 comments on “This Is The End

  1. We just watched this one last night and it did not disappoint. Yeah, it dragged at points and could have been better edited/directed in some moments but that’s not why I’m watching this film. I’m watching it to laugh and maybe even get a few scares. Fun stuff. And I’m betting the outtakes and gag reels were hilarious (such things, if they exist, are not available via Netflix).

  2. Maybe best Michael Cera ever…and I’m not always a fan. Out of the park for him alone! ML

  3. This was a lot of fun! Shame on you for revealing the best cameo though – that surprise was honestly worth the price of admission! 😀

    • Oops! I guess I did Dave, didn’t I? Honestly, there were SO many cameos shown in the trailer, that I overlooked that I was actually giving away one that wasn’t. Well, a warning to anyone that reads the comment section first, stop reading my review at the word “infectious”. Best I can do now, Dave! Thanks for checking in. ML

      • Haha, I wasn’t being totally serious there – I figure anyone who didn’t want to be “spoiled” on a comedy film would’ve seen it by now. I can just remember after seeing it wanting to recommend it to people but not wanting to talk about the funniest bit! 😀

      • No, no, Dave…you are absolutely right! I wish I had held back on it, it simply slipped my mind when writing that it was a spoiler. Glad that you caught me, so that I’ll remember to be more careful in the future! ML

  4. We LOVED this…and Pineapple Express is one of my faves….the fight scene with Seth, Danny and Franco doesn’t get any better…

Leave a Reply

