Leave a comment

No Hunger for “Catching Fire”

Thanksgiving has just about arrived in the U.S., and it’s traditionally a HUGE weekend for shopping…and movie-going. I’ll probably catch at least one in the theaters myself, but I’m not sure what it will be. Spike Lee’s remake of Chan-wook Park’s “Oldboy”? I’m very curious. Alexander Payne’s “Nebraska” with Bruce Dern? If only it would open at a theater near me! Disney’s “Frozen”? If my boys want to go, that could be the one. But I can assure you that it will not be “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” with Jennifer Lawrence. That much, I can guarantee.

It amazes me that people who know me(or I guess think they know me is more appropriate)will still venture to ask if I’m going to attend something like “The Hunger Games” or a “Twilight” movie. These are supposed to be grown-ups. Why are they so excited about films based on books meant for 14-year old kids? It’s beyond me. But if I asked them about something like “Nebraska” or “Oldboy”, I would be met with a blank stare. In fact, I would be willing to bet that the vast majority of them have never been to a Spike Lee joint in their lives. Suburbanites have this racist image of him as the “angry black man”. Puh-leez. Spike is not only much less “angry” then your average frothing-at-the-mouth “tea-party” nut, but he also happens to be one of the most talented filmmakers of this generation. People should be ashamed of missing the mastery of films like “Do the Right Thing” and “25th Hour”. But “The Hunger Games”? They are THERE.

And then there are the folks that treat me like I’m doing something wrong by skipping “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”. To which I answer this: why does it need me? It grossed almost 160 million dollars on its opening weekend, and has a legion of rabid fans that will push its global take towards the one billion mark(if not actually past it). I also have to be on board? Why do they need me too? I didn’t enjoy the first movie in the series and I wouldn’t even dream of reading the novels, so why should I waste my time? There’s so much to see, and I have to push some of these mediocre blockbusters to the wayside. I’ll give the fans this: “Catching Fire” has been better received than the first installment by most critics. Also, I liked Jennifer Lawrence immensely in “Silver Linings Playbook”. So, enjoy it, lovers of all things Katniss. This boy is not on board. And be sure to tune in around February 2015, so I can tell you why I’m bypassing “Fifty Shades of Grey”.

Leave a Reply

