Leave a comment

“Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles”…for kids?

I owe my six-year-old son a movie trip, because I’ve already taken my nine-year-old boy to a couple of the big superhero sequels this season(namely “Captain America: The Winter Soldier” and “The Amazing Spider-Man 2”). For a couple of weeks now, we’ve been chatting about the coming “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” reboot as a strong possibility, mainly because I remember the 1990 incarnation as being goofy, live-action fun. So, I figured this update would be a pretty safe bet. Now I’m not so sure. Just yesterday, I was finally able to catch a different talking animal franchise feature in “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes”(review before the week is out!), and I happened to catch the “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” trailer. Holy cow! Violence, mayhem, toppling towers…and Megan Fox! Maybe “TMNT 2014” isn’t such a good idea for someone just heading to first grade this coming September. He may not be pleased, but it appears we’ll have to search for a theater still showing “How to Train Your Dragon 2” instead. Animated flying reptiles just might be more palatable than masked, martial arts-trained ones. Watch the trailer above, and you tell me what my call should be—I don’t want to traumatize my little one! I think you’ll agree that it’s not your “daddy’s” Ninja Turtles at all, 24 years on. “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” opens on August 8th and is rated PG-13. Directed by Jonathan Liebesman(“Battle Los Angeles”, “Wrath of the Titans”), it also stars Whoopi Goldberg, Will Arnett, and Johnny Knoxville as the voice of Leonardo. “Cowabunga”!

Leave a Reply

