4 Comments

“The Expendables 3″…blowing it right out of the gate?

Not to be a negative “Nellie”, but what were they thinking with this PG-13 rating for “The Expendables 3”? Just who the heck does the studio think their audience is? Has the “family friendly” sanitizing, of this testosterone-soaked franchise, doomed its box office right at the get-go? I guess we’ll know when the first day receipts are estimated, come Saturday morning.

In the meantime, let me give you an age roster. Sylvester Stallone is now 68, and “youngster” Jason Statham is 47. Harrison Ford turned 72 last month, Schwarzenegger hit 67, and Wesley Snipes…52(useless, yet interesting, trivia…all five had birthdays in July). Psycho Mel Gibson is 58. Dolph Lundgren is 56. Antonio Banderas is 54. Jet Li…51.  Are you sensing a pattern here? Is there a name star in this cast born after Woodstock? Why the hell is Lionsgate attempting to make this safe for kids?

You know what demographic lined up for the first two movies in “The Expendables” franchise? Dudes my age(I’ll be 49 in October), that’s who. Why betray us? Hey, most of my regular readers might be surprised I even give a damn about a flick like this. But I like to “slum” a bit, just like everyone else. I saw 2010’s “The Expendables” in theaters(hated it)and caught up with 2012’s “The Expendables 2” on DVD(pleasantly surprised). Guys that I graduated high school with are the audience for this schlock! Of course, if it rakes in a mint this weekend…never mind.

4 comments on ““The Expendables 3″…blowing it right out of the gate?

  1. Exactly the kind of movie I expected from this franchise. For better, and for worse. Good review Mark.

    • I’m glad that you enjoyed this, Dan, and I’m hoping that I do too when I catch up with it on DVD. However, my piece on this was really more of a commentary on how it’s being promoted and marketed…and whether or not it’s being handled correctly by releasing it PG-13. It appears that, so far, I’m correct. Its first day North American box office was abysmal. ML

  2. C’mon, 13 year olds are all about Dolph Lundgren.

    • Ha! I wish you were right, Dave…because I’ve been sort of rooting for this one. But it’s doing terribly at the box office this weekend…methinks they should’ve released it as an ‘R’. Or maybe it’s simply “franchise fatigue”. Anyway…I’m doubting we’ll see a fourth installment. ML

Leave a Reply

