Leave a comment

“Dumb and Dumber To”…why not?

Now, I’m not saying that I’ll attend it in theaters…I won’t. And I’m not espousing that it’s actually any good…it may not be. For instance, the nation’s critics have had a field day bashing it. But I’m a little suspect…why the vitriol? As far as I’m concerned, the directing Farrelly brothers have a pretty decent track record. The original “Dumb and Dumber” in 1994, the recent reboot of “The Three Stooges” from 2012, and a little smash hit from 1998 called “There’s Something About Mary”. All of them pretty damn hilarious…admittedly to varying degrees. So, I’m not certain that Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels making a return to characters now two decades older is a wise artistic venture. But it kind of makes sense, and I’m definitely intrigued. Hey, a lot of critics slammed the original “Dumb and Dumber” years back. And that comedy cracks me up every time I come across it when channel-surfing. Count me as on board for visiting “Dumb and Dumber To” when it arrives on Blu-ray and DVD. And I’ll understand when the North American domestic audience forks over about 50 million bucks for it this weekend. Everyone needs a good laugh. So, this is one time I’m not going to be railing against the insipid masses. Maybe I’m going soft?

Leave a Reply

