2 Comments

“The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 2”?…I prefer to starve.

I just can’t do it, I’m sorry. It’s in the cards that I’ll attend a new film this weekend (top contenders currently are “Brooklyn” and “Spectre”), but I just want to confirm that it won’t be the finale of this barely interesting franchise. If memory serves me correctly (I haven’t checked), I expressed similar sentiments last year at this time, concerning “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1”. I mean, even that pisses me off. This consistent splitting of “novels” into multiple parts, for maximum box office potential. The trend has been to slice the final book in a series (this, Harry Potter, Twilight), but the makers of “The Hobbit” went so far as to divide a 300 page novel into three almost 3-hour features! Shame on them…and the movie-going masses. “The Hobbit” grossed around 3 billion worldwide. What’s next for literary adaptations–a movie per chapter? That’s the way we’re heading.

Yes, I realize that “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 2” will dominate the weekend box office take, as well as this being the final screen appearance for the late, great Philip Seymour Hoffman. Whatever. He was simply cashing in with this nonsense, and I choose to recognize his solid work in 2014’s “A Most Wanted Man” as his last real screen role. Yes, I like Jennifer Lawrence. I believe that she’s very talented, plus her Oscar performance in “Silver Linings Playbook” was quite fine. But this “Hunger Games” stuff is her least challenging stuff. In fact, I gave up after the first two installments. 2012’s “The Hunger Games” had a few moments. 2013’s “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” had less. This franchise doesn’t really need me…it’ll rake in plenty of cash, sans Mark Leonard. As for Ms. Lawrence, I await David O. Russell’s “Joy”. My intrigue factor is much higher there.

2 comments on ““The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 2”?…I prefer to starve.

  1. Sorry to say I think they are going to such me into the Cineplex with this one. I can’t help but finish off a series once I start it. Although you think I would have learnt my lesson after suffering through the pathetic final movie of the Twilight series!

Leave a Reply

