2 Comments

The ’78’

So, a shot at a new feature…because I’m still being asked. “What did you see?” “Where’s my favorite on your Top Ten list?” “If you have such-and-such in your ‘Best Of’, why isn’t it reviewed?” For that last one, the answer is simply that I haven’t reviewed it yet. But it’s coming, it’s coming! As usual, when all is said and done, I’ll be bringing you a review of every single feature film Oscar nominee. That’s something I brought you in 2014, and 2013 too. Yeah, 2012, as well. It’s almost a guarantee, that I’m the only film critic that makes that a regular practice. Just a hunch I have. For instance, I just started watching one of the Original Song contenders. Next up after that, the only Best Makeup & Hairstyling nominee that I haven’t seen. So…here’s a straightforward list for your perusal. No commentary, no bells-and-whistles. Just the films I saw, from the period of February 17th, 2015 through January 31st, 2016. Btw, from that first date until November 30th, I viewed 40 films from the roster. Then the other 38 were crammed into the last two months. It’s a very busy time. Okay, here it comes: the film, the format, the order I saw them in, plus if it has an asterisk, it means I first viewed it at home on my giant screen with the killer sound system. Here it is, the ’78’:

The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water 3D

*Maps to the Stars

*Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief

It Follows

Avengers: Age of Ultron IMAX 3D

Mad Max: Fury Road 3D

*Paddington

*Blackhat

*Welcome to Me

Jurassic World IMAX 3D

*Timbuktu

*While We’re Young

*Chappie

*Wild Tales

*Ex Machina

Minions 3D

*The Salt of the Earth

Inside Out 3D

*Tangerines

Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation IMAX

*Clouds of Sils Maria

*Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter

Ant-Man 3D

*Home

*Far from the Madding Crowd

*’71

*Love & Mercy

The Visit

*Ned Rifle

The Martian 3D

The Walk IMAX 3D

Hotel Transylvania 3D

*Cinderella

*Gett: The Trial of Viviane Amsalem

*Southpaw

*The Gift

*Terminator Genisys

*The End of the Tour

Brooklyn

The Good Dinosaur

Creed

*Bridge of Spies

*The Man from U.N.C.L.E.

*The Diary of a Teenage Girl

*Amy

*Straight Outta Compton

*Trumbo

*Listen to Me Marlon

*Carol

*Shaun the Sheep Movie

*Spotlight

*Sicario

*Grandma

*The Big Short

*Tomorrowland

*Truth

*Black Mass

*Legend

*Infinitely Polar Bear

*Mistress America

*Joy

*The Revenant

*Steve Jobs

*Pan

Star Wars: The Force Awakens IMAX 3D

*Trainwreck

*The Look of Silence

*What Happened, Miss Simone?

*The Danish Girl

*Room

*Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom

*When Marnie Was There

*Cartel Land

*Boy & the World

*Chi-Raq

*Beasts of No Nation

*The Assassin

Anomalisa

 

2 comments on “The ’78’

  1. Wow you managed to watch all these films!! Ahh, I gotta watch more! I can’t wait to read your reviews 🙂 And see which movies really impressed you!

    • Hey…thanks so much! Yeah, this was a record year for me. Chiefly because it was my first FULL year as a critic for a national radio program. And I’m not done with 2015 yet–I’ll hit 100 easy before I move on. Thanks for reading!

      ML

Leave a Reply

