Leave a comment

I hate Tom Cruise. I love Tom Cruise.

And why the hell is that? I just can’t understand it. Why do I keep going back? It’s uncanny. Sometimes this guy really pisses me off. Often, he’s so damn creepy. But he’s also one of the biggest movie stars of the last 35 years (thee biggest?), and I keep watching. And I’m ready to do it again, with the upcoming release of the sequel “Jack Reacher: Never Go Back”. Even though the original “Jack Reacher” film, from 2012, was only pretty good. Plus, I’m also trying to ignore that this 2016 follow-up is directed by Edward Zwick…who almost never impresses me. I’m one of the guys that thinks 1989’s “Glory” is overrated, 1994’s “Legends of the Fall” is overwrought, 2003’s “The Last Samurai” is over-produced, and that the best part of 2008’s awful “Defiance”, was when it was just plain over. There, I’ve said it. But I’m giving Zwick the benefit of the doubt ahead of the game this time. And it’s all because of Cruise. Tom’s comeback trajectory is amazing to me. You can’t stop this guy. He laughs like a psycho on talk shows…but I still like him. He follows that kooky religion…and I let it slide. Maybe it’s because I thought 2014’s “Edge of Tomorrow” was the finest sci-fi action film since 1986’s “Aliens”? Or could it be the chutzpah of scaling part of the Burj Khalifa in 2011’s “Mission: Impossible-Ghost Protocol”, or that he tied himself to a damn flying plane in 2015’s follow-up “Mission: Impossible-Rogue Nation”? Who knows. He fascinates me. His canon is outstanding. Pull up his resume. It’s just damn incredible. And then he temporarily falters. Then he just keeps on coming right back. It’s uncanny. So, in regards to the title of this story, probably only the second part should apply. Alright…definitely. “Jack Reacher: Never Go Back”, arrives on my birthday.

Leave a Reply

