Leave a comment

“Sully” reputation

Image result for sully movie

Ugh. No, I haven’t seen it yet, and I’m not certain that I will. I guess, if it triumphs with nominations during awards season, and/or I receive an industry screener, I might simply get roped into it. But I have very little desire to attend Clint Eastwood’s “Sully”. And with all the different people asking me the last few days if I’m “excited” to see it, I wonder–have they ever been paying attention? What could I possibly learn from this film? What is there to get excited over? Here, I’ll paraphrase what I said on Facebook yesterday: a middlebrow, mainstream movie, about a relatively recent event that we are all aware of, with an ending we all know, with a juiced-up, semi-fabricated “controversy”, starring the safest actor on the planet, has won the weekend box office. Big surprise. What in the world would get me jazzed up for that? I bet the special effects are excellent. But this isn’t “Star Wars”.

Sometimes I wonder if I can muster another diatribe about the laziness of audiences. Alright–I know I still have it in me. And I haven’t even mentioned that the director of “Sully” is a proven asshole. Political? You bet. Don’t like me saying it? Tough. Google someday what he did to poor Sondra Locke, and then get back to me. And he was disgraceful when he disparaged President Barack Obama during the RNC four years ago. So, screw Clint Eastwood. Anyway, I still believe I give his films a fair shake. He can occasionally be very good as a director, but he’s just as often average–or just plain bad. And, I assure you, I’m armed with examples. Just ask. Also, I don’t just involuntarily bow at the feet of the “great god” Tom Hanks.

Hey, this Chelsey “Sully” Sullenberger pulled off an incredibly awesome thing, with a complex combination of skill and luck. I live in the New York area, and I work for a major news station. The Hudson River landing of US Airways Flight 1549 was an amazing happening. But are we honoring the memory of it by glossing it over, and Hollywood-izing it with bullcrap? I think not. However, do these types of things sometimes go on to win the Academy Award for Best Picture? Search “Argo” on this site for reference.

Leave a Reply

